Vivid – Elizabeth Orr

PYLON-Lab proudly presents the solo exhibition „Vivid“ by artist and filmmaker Elizabeth Orr.

Opening: June 21st, 2018 from 6pm – 10pm

 

Elizabeth Orr will present her film „MT RUSH” as a multimedia installation, accompanied by a series of new sculptural works for the exhibition.

In the presented works, Orr extends the word vivid to visuality and also linguistics, evoking strong visual and distinct mental images.

 

„MT RUSH” (2016), is a layered reflection of social phenomena and their structural composition. As a near-future science fiction video, the film chronicles a Mount Rushmore National Park ranger’s struggle with an overload of incoming fundraising emails, in the course of the United States presidential election of 2016. The film exposes the invasive manner of language and use of technology in the light of campaigning and fundraising during the election. Orr visualises an user interface that is omnipresent in the everyday life of the film’s protagonist, exemplifying an increasingly connected society in the current digital age.

 

Orr’s interdisciplinary work resonates a performative character in order to create dialogue, which stems from an underlying, yet undeniable element of theatricality. As its given conventions in theatre, this element reflects on a distinct selection of materiality and context as they occur in Orr’s works. Both are serving as a casting – not to put on a show -, but to reflect social structures, by means of mirroring the hyperbolic nature of modern society’s issues like power, influence and ethics.

 

Elizabeth Orr (*1984), who lives and works in New York, USA, has presented her work in numerous international exhibitions and is – apart from teaching and lecturing in several institutions – involved in different art projects like reviving her father Eric Orr’s light and stage set for „Five Sisters“, or her collaborations with artists Micah Angelus and Emma Hedditch.

 

Please join us for the opening of the exhibition Vivid on Thursday, June 21st from 6 pm to 22 pm.

Vivid – Elizabeth Orr

PYLON-Lab präsentiert die Einzelausstellung „Vivid“ der New Yorker Künstlerin Elizabeth Orr.

Eröffnung: 21. Juni 2018, 18-22 Uhr

Elizabeth Orr präsentiert ihren Film „MT RUSH“ als Multimedia-Installation, begleitet von einer Reihe neuer skulpturaler Arbeiten. Orr erweitert das Wort „vivid“ (lebhaft/lebendig) in den präsentierten Arbeiten auf einer Ebene der Visualität und Linguistik, um starke visuelle und mentale Bilder hervorzurufen.

„MT RUSH“ (2016) ist eine vielschichtige Reflexion von sozialen Phänomenen und deren struktureller Zusammensetzung. Als fiktionales Video erzählt der Film vom Kampf eines Mount Rushmore National Park Rangers mit der Flut von Spendenaufruf-E-Mails im Zuge der US-Präsidentschaftswahl 2016. Der Film enthüllt die invasive Art von Sprache und der Verwendung von Technologie für Kampagnen und Fundraising während der Wahl. Orr visualisiert eine im Alltag des Protagonisten des Films allgegenwärtige Benutzeroberfläche, die eine zunehmend vernetzte Gesellschaft im aktuellen digitalen Zeitalter veranschaulicht.

Orr interdisziplinäre Arbeiten, haben einen performativen Charakter, um einen Dialog zu eröffnen der auf einem zugrunde liegenden, aber unbestreitbarem Element der Theatralik beruht. Wie in den gegebenen Konventionen im Theater reflektiert dieses Element eine bestimmte Auswahl von Materialität und Kontext, wie sie in Orrs Werken vorkommen. Beide dienen als Casting – nicht um eine Show zu kreieren -, sondern um soziale Strukturen zu reflektieren, indem sie die hyperbolische Natur von Gesellschaftsthemen wie Macht, Einfluss und Ethik widerspiegeln.

Elizabeth Orr (* 1984, lebt und arbeitet in New York, USA) hat ihre Arbeiten bereits in zahlreichen internationalen Ausstellungen präsentiert und ist – abgesehen von Lesungen und ihrer Lehrtätigkeit in verschiedenen Institutionen – in verschiedenen Kunstprojekte involviert, wie z.B. der Wiederbelebung von Licht und Bühnenbild ihres Vater Eric Orrs für „Five Sisters“ oder ihren Kollaborationen mit den Künstlern Micah Angelus und Emma Hedditch.

Sie sind herzlich zur Eröffnung der Ausstellung „Vivid“ am Donnerstag, 21. Juni von 18 bis 22 Uhr eingeladen.